Visualization of the declining impact of Hepatitis A in the USA

Hi all,
I am a student from Swansea University and I am currently working on a data visualization assignment that involves visualzing data from Project Tycho (https://www.tycho.pitt.edu/) . After having read about the impact of the Hepatitis A vaccination post the mid 90s, I was motivated to visualize how the impact of Hepatitis A had changed per region in the United States. I will present a basic heatmap below which visualizes the number of cases of the disease per year per region from 2001-2011.

I would love to get some feedback to see if there is any way to improve this visualization. I was doubting whether grouping the states via regions was a good idea but the reasoning was to make it easier to get a quick interpretation and quick decision for where further exploration could be focused. Also as there are a large number of states which might make it less visually appealing.

I thus have a couple of questions to ask, would you recommend all the states be placed on the Y-axis instead of grouped as regions? If so, which visual layouts would be effective with dealing with the large number of states? Also, generally what would you recommend as a visual layout to more clearly show the declining impact of Hepatitis A in the US?

Last question would be, in this instance, do you think it would be more effective to report on the number of incidences per 100000 per region or to stick with the number of cases in showing this trend?

Visual Design Type: Heatmap

Name of tool: Tableau

Disease: Hepatitis A

Year: 2001-2011

Visual Mappings:
-Color: Color intensity is mapped to the number of cases of Hepatitis A in that specific region of the United States and in that specific year. A higher intensity of the color red represents a higher number of cases.

-X axis: The years from 2001-2011 are along the X-axis.

-Y axis: The four regions of the USA are along the Y-axis