Visualising Dengue across the globe

Source:
Due to a large number of datasets used, the DOIs and countries used for this visualisation can be found here

Context:
Hello, I am a student at Swansea University, currently completing an assignment for my data visualisation module. The assignment requires me to explore and visualise the Project Tycho data set to help find unique observations in the data. For this assignment, I have produced an animated bubble map to visualise the cumulative yearly count of Dengue for 99 countries from 1955 to 2009. As this visualisation is animated, the animation can be found here.

From the visualisation, we can clearly observe periods of high Dengue cases and also pin point countries with abnormally large outbreaks of Dengue such as Brazil and Cuba. A general consensus can also be made that fatal cases of Dengue usually occur in relatively small cases. We can also observe a significant decline in Dengue post 2004/2005.

Visual Design Type: Animated & Interactive bubble map
Name of Tool:
Data Driven Documents (D3) for visualisation
Colorbrewer 2.0 for colour scheme of datapoints (discrete data)
Country: all 99 countries available for precompiled Dengue datasets (Click source link for list of countries)
Disease: Dengue
Year: 1955 to 2009
Visual Mappings:

• Colour: Colour is mapped to the discrete classification of a countries case having fatalities or not
  • Shape: Each case of dengue is represented as a bubble
  • Size: The size of each bubble is mapped to the yearly count of dengue over a year period for a given country.
  • position: The position of each bubble is mapped to the geographic location of the case the bubble represents.

Problem:
Whilst visualising the data i have tried to maintain integrity and honesty, To do so, i have employed the use of Tufte’s principles [1], more specifically: